Chicken Thighs with Parsnip Puree

I literally have no food in the house.  We are talking bare bones.  A few lingering carrots, a random bag of parsnips, and the only saving grace  – a few chicken thighs in the freezer.  With little to nothing but a bit of intuition, a beautiful combination of flavors emerged that nurtured our spirit and made for a very satisfying dinner.  I rarely swoon over my own dishes, but with this I had no shame.  I swooned the shit of this dish.  I highly encourage all of you to make this on a cold night, when you feel like you could use a little extra warmth at the end of a very long day.

Ingredients:

Serves 2-3

1 lb Chicken Thighs

Salt/ freshly ground pepper

1-1.5lb chicken thighs

1/4 cup or so chopped onion

Capers

2-3 cloves crushed garlic

Sweet paprika

Smoked salt

Fresh thyme

Chicken broth

2 Bay Leaves

4 large parsnips

¼ cup or so heavy cream

Fresh thyme

Salt

1-2 crushed cloves of garlic

Instructions:

Rinse, pat dry and salt and pepper chicken thighs.  Place in pan- I prefer my dutch oven- brown chicken thighs on both sides.  Remove from pan and set aside.

Add olive oil to dutch oven and saute onions until they begin to sweat, add in capers and stir about, scraping up the brown bits from the bottom of the dutch oven and finally adding the crushed garlic, mix about.   Add chicken back to pan along with sweet paprika and smoked salt.  You will notice I did not include specific measurements in the recipe because I simply did not keep track.  Just do what feels right for you.  Stir about, coating the chicken in the onion/caper mix.  Lastly, add thyme.  Pour chicken stock over chicken thighs, just covering them. Cover and simmer 45 minutes.

For parsnips, fill a large pot with salted water and two bay leaves, bring to a boil.   Add in four parsnips, peeled.  Cook until tender.  Remove parsnips from water and place in food processor.  Add 1/4 cup or so of cream, or 1-2tbl butter, whatever fat you like, fresh thyme, salt and 1-2 crushed cloves of garlic.  Process until smooth.

Sit chicken in the parsnip puree, top with stock from the pan.  Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Thighs with Parsnip Puree

  1. Mmm, this sounds wonderful. I love using chicken thighs instead of breasts, so I always have a few in my freezer. And I have some thyme tucked somewhere in my crisper drawer… looks like this might be on the menu this week! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for reading!! Chicken thighs are so versatile and better than the breast. Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

