Baked Eggs with Brocolini, Truffle Salt and Herbs

547448_10151347887771331_1317763489_n

When I started BnY, I did not intend to post many of my own recipes.  I intended to write about food and travel that inspires me, sharing stories about purveyors, chefs, artists, people who enrich my life and by sharing those stories I would hopefully inspire you along the way.   These days, I am finding my kitchen more and more complete…I tend to buy products that are interesting to me versus things I must have in the house.  At the farmers market, I will pick up varietals of produce that I have never heard of simply to experiment and expand my personal flavor profile.   That is how I found kohlrabi.  While visiting The Public Market in Milwaukee, I discovered orange flower water and rose water at The Spice House.  I recently discovered adding flower water to almond milk is rather lovely!  Thanks to TomEatsJenCooks, I learned all about makkoli.   Often times I ask myself, “can I make this?”, which is how I discovered making my own back was easy and delicious!  The more I cook, the more I discover ingredients… how they can marry and blend, making me a more knowledgable home chef and Matt a very happy husband.  With that, I would like to share with you this baked egg recipe; a very satisfying breakfast sure to please!  Please note, the measurements are approximate.  I typically add what feels right when I work with savouries.  In addition, you can use any veggies or herbs you like.  Roasted tomatoes or asparagus would be lovely…as would prosciutto or speck ham.

For two servings, you will need:

Two large ramekins

6 eggs

6 stems and heads of brocolini,  very roughly chopped

Half teaspoon of minced garlic

2 tablespoons of chopped onion

Olive oil

A pinch or two of truffle salt

2 teaspoons of dried Herbs de Provence, or fresh herbs of your choice

2 teaspoons of grated parm

Freshly ground pepper, I used green peppercorns

A touch of cream

Preheat oven to 375.  Butter (or use olive oil) the inside of two large ramekins.  Set aside.  In saute pan, heat olive oil and add chopped onion.  Allow onions to sweat for a few minutes, then add minced garlic.  Toss in brocoloni, chopped with stems (the stems are deliciously bright).   Saute for 5-7 minutes on medium high heat.

Next, add sautéed brocolini to the ramekin.  Top with a teaspoon of grated parm or cheese of your choice.  Crack 3 eggs into each ramekin.  Top with truffle salt, freshly ground pepper, and a touch of cream.

Place each ramekin in a roasting pan.  Fill roasting pan with hot water from the kettle until it reaches halfway up the ramekins.  For a softer yolk, bake in oven for 18-20 minutes.  For a harder yolk, bake for 25 minutes.  Serve with toasty bread!

P1060027

Guerande grey salt is an untreated salt, high in minerals and nutrients. Also known as sel gris, Guerande grey salt comes from Brittany France. This product adds dried black summer truffles, making it an excellent finishing salt to most dishes…especially eggs. It has a very fine grind, which allows the salt to literally melt into the final touches of any meal. It should be noted that summer truffles are less potent than winter truffles, meaning this salt will not overpower with truffle, but rather give a hint of its flavor. The summer truffle is harvested from June to late August, making it less potent than its counterpart.

P1060026

Leave a Reply

