Monday evening cocktail (cause you know you need it).

Delicious right? Yeah, it’s a classic gin cocktail – the gin fizz, and this was my first time making one.  In fact, I haven’t made too many cocktails at home outside of my favorite go to drink, the simple, yet enjoyable gin and tonic.  Inspired by this new venture Jenna and I have embarked upon, it’s fitting that we focus on something just as enjoyable, inspiring and customizable as home cooking, and that’s cocktails.  We have the bar, we have the tools and we have a decent liquor collection so it was time to take my favorite spirit and do something besides adding some tonic and a lime.

I’ve always been intrigued by cocktails with egg white – the richness and frothiness that the egg white adds makes the drink, well, seem more thirst quenching and tasty.  After searching for various gin cocktails to make this one fit the bill since we had all the necessary ingredients…2 oz gin, one egg white, 1/2 tsp superfine sugar, splash of lemon and club soda at the end.  So, here I was, taking longer than needed because I typically get flustered when I rush and multitask in the kitchen, frantically adding ice to the shaker, pouring the gin, sugar, and lemon over the ice and vigorously shaking the mixture until my shoulders hurt and my hands were numb from the cold.  The directions said to shake until it hurt, and that’s exactly what I did.  However, it didn’t take too long. I’m not really sure what that says about the strength of my shoulders (I do work out…) and my ability to withstand cold temperatures – but the cap flew off and I spilled a bit as Jenna shook her head in disbelief.

Regaining my composure I shook the mixture a few more times (you have to shake a lot to make sure the egg white mixes well with the gin) and poured the cocktail in a highball glass with a few ice cubes, followed by some club soda.  Above is the final product…and it certainly looks the part (see above)…but I wasn’t exactly enamored with the flavor.  Jenna thought it tasted good but I think the problem was with the type of gin I used.  Overall, I thought the drink was a bit bland but the texture seemed right.  Only having Death’s Door at home limited my options but I’m now determined to purchase a variety of gins to perfect the fizz and start creating my own concoctions.

One thought on “Monday evening cocktail (cause you know you need it).

  1. I’m excited for a number of happenings which have recently been posted by one of my main fellows Senhor TKO. The first is the Washington Island Gin which brings me back to the stones and cool lake water of Rock Island beach. The second is a tattoo reigning supreme high on the tricep of success. And thirdly, egg whites mixed into cocktails. You are on to bigger and better things, and any gracious human being should take influence.

Leave a Reply

